Project Team

Project Manager
Caroline Marcangelo 
caroline.marcangelo@cumbria.ac.uk

Project Administrator
Linda Shore 
linda.shore@cumbria.ac.uk

Project Consultant

Sarah Chesney
sarahchesney@me.com

DePTA Project Partners
Karen Clubb, University of Derby
k.clubb@derby.ac.uk

Dr Alfredo Gaitan, University of Bedfordshire
Alfredo.Gaitan@beds.ac.uk

Megan J Lawton, University of Wolverhampton
M.J.Lawton@wlv.ac.uk

Lynnn Moran, University of Liverpool
lmoran@liv.ac.uk

Wendy Nicholls, University of Wolverhampton
W.Nicholls@wlv.ac.uk

David Penny, University of Cumbria
david.penny@cumbria.ac.uk

Anthony Sinclair, University of Liverpool
A.G.M.Sinclair@liverpool.ac.uk

Janet Strivens, University of Liverpool
strivens@liverpool.ac.uk

Rob Ward, Centre for Recording Achievement (CRA)
rob@recordingachievement.org

DePTA



Digital Enhanced Patchwork Text Assessment Project (DePTA)

Patchwork Text Assessment is a method of assessment where students complete a series of separate small pieces of work which are discussed with peers as each piece is produced. The final summative piece is a reflective synopsis of the learning that the individual draws from undertaking these patches and from peer feedback. Digital enhancement uses learning technologies to broaden the scope of work in each of the patches beyond text and facilitate communication between peers and tutors.


This project has been designed to develop the use and effectiveness of digitally supported patchwork text assessments in a range of traditional academic subjects within different HEIs. It has been funded under the JISC Learning and Teaching Innovation Grant for a twelve month period between June 2010 and July 2011.

The project brings together four partner Institutions and The Centre for Recording Achievement (CRA). It is being co-ordinated, managed and delivered by an experienced project leader and administrative team from the University of Cumbria who have extensive expertise in project management, involvement with JISC projects and substantial experience in digitally-enabled patchwork text assessment and evaluation.

The project aims to:
1. Demonstrate the relevance and utility of the PTA approach within a range of institutions and subject disciplines, using different learning technologies.

2. Identify and highlight the functionality required in the digital environment to maximise the benefits of such an approach for staff and students.

The main objectives are to:
• utilise technologies that are readily available within participating HEIs, thereby identifying key functionalities and threshold requirements and for the effective implementation of patchwork text assessment digitally (a key requirement for effective dissemination and take up in a resource constrained sector);

• extend the use of e-assessment into undeveloped areas, identifying guidance and support needs for those new to this practice to develop confidence and skills in designing and implementing contextually-specific patchwork text assignments;

• evaluate the extent to which the scope of PTA assessment can be extended to embrace subject benchmarks and graduate skills, in particular difficult-to-demonstrate attributes where evidence needs to be captured from learning processes as well as products;

• disseminate findings through workshop activities, the CRA member community and via the CRA website.



Developed by Juicy Media